Skip to content ↓
Lochinver House

Board of Governors


Lochinver House Preparatory School was founded in 1947 by Harold Bailey and the first Headmaster Willoughby Salter.  It was run as a private Preparatory School until 1960 when Willoughby Salter decided to retire and wished to sell the school.  Many of the parents at the time wished the school to remain and so a self-governing charitable trust was set up.  In 2002 Lochinver became incorporated as a Company Limited by Guarantee, the Governors being members and directors thereof.

The Lochinver Board of Governors is largely made up of people who all have a personal interest in the welfare of the school as former parents, employees or pupils.  The Chairman, William Moores, is a former parent.  The Governing Body aims to include within its membership expertise in different areas which may be useful to the school such as education, law, accountancy, healthcare and construction.  Accordingly, we have as Governors, the Heads of several local independent secondary schools where many boys go after their time at Lochinver, including the Heads of St Albans and Haileybury, together with other specially selected members.  Governors do not receive any remuneration from Lochinver, nor do they charge for any work carried out on the school's behalf.

The Board is assisted by the Bursar who acts as Clerk to the Governors.

The Board of Governors is responsible for the overall direction of the school but plays no part in its day to day running, a task which is left entirely to the Headmaster and his staff.  However, the Governors maintain close contact with the school, particularly with the Headmaster and the Bursar, making themselves available for consultation, should the need arise.  Full Governors' meetings are held at the school once a term and various committees are elected to deal with specific areas, such as finance, risk, education and health and safety.

Board of Governors

William Moores - Chair of Governors
Governor since 2008
Managing Director in Investment Management
Former Parent
Chair of Finance & General Purposes Committee,
Member of Education Committe and Governor in attendence at Health & Safety Committee

Duncan Taylor - Vice Chair
Governor since 2014
Chair of the Risk Management Committee

Bruce Aitken
Governor since 2018
Former Parent
Company Director

Rami Atalla
Governor since 2016
Former Parent
Member of Finance & General Purposes

Martin Collier
Governor since 2018
Headmaster of Haileybury 

Mandy English
Governor since 2015
Communications Officer
Member of Education Committee

Nick Gilbert
Governor since 2014
Charity Professional
Former Lochinver Pupil
Member of Finance and General Purpose Committee, Bursary Committee and Risk Management Committee

Jonathan Gillespie
Governor since 2015
Headmaster of St Albans School



Olivia Jacobs
Governor since 2017
Former Parent
Business Director

James Le Couilliard
Governor since 2015
Former Parent
Company Director
Member of Finance and General Purposes Committee

 Jane Oram 
Governor since 1997
Company Director
Former Parent
Member of Finance & General Purposes Committee         Risk Management, Bursary and Education Committees

Helen Philp
Former Head of Maths at Lochinver House School
Governor since 2017
Member of Education Committee

Christine Smith
Governor 2013
Headmistress of Sarum Hall, Hampstead
Former Academic Director of Lochinver House School
Chair of the Education Committee and Designated Safeguarding Governor

Jonathan Taylor-Cummings
Governor 2018
Company Director
Former Parent                                                                                  Member of the Education Committee


Nicola Marlow - Clerk to the Governors, contact email

Correspondence Address:

Lochinver House School
Heath Road
Little Heath
Potters Bar
Herts EN6 1LW

  • 11 September

    Yesterday's first ever Pre Prep Lego Club was a massive hit! The boys listened to 'Whatever next' by Jill Murphy and then designed rockets for Baby Bear to fly to the moon, complete with a seat for his companion, Owl. Next week the boys will design and construct landmarks.